为教育构建3D打印机农场

-----------西密歇根航空学院的AJ Laarman博士

创建3D打印机“farm”不一定非常昂贵。 这是由密歇根州大急流城西密歇根航空学院的学生和教师制定的计划,预算紧张,抱有很大的希望和雄心壮志。 该项目的目的是大大增加所有学生和所有部门对3D打印的实际操作。

首先是申请并获得我们当地博世公司的社区基金赠款。 这笔赠款将使我们能够购买大量易于编程和操作的低成本3D打印机。 用户培训时间需要保持在最低限度,以提供功能友好的环境和学生的即时成功。 由于预期的使用量,廉价的打印机材料成本也是优先考虑的因素。

在收到资助并研究了几台3-D打印机型号和公司后,我们决定购买 Cetus 3D 打印机直接来自 Tiertime。 我们觉得这台打印机可以满足我们的需求并且价格便宜,可以简单地换掉可能需要调整或遇到技术问题的打印机。

第二个挑战是创建某种类型的移动推车来容纳打印机,另外的目标是在打印操作期间不必将它们从推车中取出。 实现第二个目标创造了三个新的挑战:1。 设计一个卷轴机构来为每台打印机供电; 2。 确保标准的120伏特AC,20放大器配电系统可以处理多台打印机; 和3。 允许单屏显示器和笔记本电脑轻松访问每台打印机,以上传程序和监控打印进度。

下面是材料清单,右边是如何使用在当地的商店或木材场购买的材料构建打印机农场的简单图表。

数量描述使用

3¾“x 4'x 8'胶合板侧面,底部和搁架

2 4'x 8'Masonite,后面板单元

3½“x 2”边缘,修剪和支撑架子前面

4重型脚轮,机组移动性

1笔记本电脑,将程序上传到打印机

1平板显示器,监控程序和打印机状态

4 120伏特交流电源板,配电

3 7端口通用usb集线器,打印机通信

1 Windows PC(带触摸屏),打印机控制

1 LED灯条,照明

我们很幸运地发现了一个食品展示柜,我们的食品服务部门已经不再使用它了。 经过多次协作设计讨论,学生们拆除了所有制冷设备和现有的搁架。 接下来的挑战是确定能够在现有结构内实际运行的打印机数量,同时保持电流安培需求低于20安培。 还设计了一种材料卷轴进给系统,可以方便地将材料流入每台打印机并简化阀芯更换。 最后,我们的农场可以在三个不同的货架上容纳十五台(15)打印机。 购物车的移动性对我们来说非常重要,因为他们可以将农场搬到学校内不同部门,这些部门希望能够在几天内使用它。

在拆除和拆除所有非结构物品(包括整个冷却系统)后,我们测试所有Cetus打印机(右图)以获得适当的间距和搁架高度。 在测试合适之后,每个打印机的铝基座以及架子都被钻孔并用螺栓固定在一起,从而确保打印机的移动运输。 移除打印机后,电源和电缆布线安装在视线之外且位于最低架子下方。

注意图中货架上的初始弯曲,我们决定为打印机货架添加一个刚性支撑结构。 安装完所有电缆后,我们在设备底部安装了一台Windows PC,用于控制打印机。 为了连接打印机,我们在每个架子的开头安装了一个USB集线器,以便插入所有打印机。 然后,我们将3 USB集线器(带扩展)运行到计算机以连接打印机。

一旦计算机启动并运行并安装了Cetus软件,就只需要一次安装和命名一台打印机。 对于此步骤,我建议您事先在每台打印机上放置带标签的磁带,以帮助您更好地组织命名约定。


在此过程中,我们还发现一次打开并连接一台打印机非常重要。 一旦所有打印机都被正确命名,我们就把它们全部打开,并惊喜地看到它们在所包含的软件中显示出漂亮和整洁。 Cetus3D。 该软件使得与每台打印机的连接无缝且简单,因为您可以在一台机器上开始打印,然后只需选择一台新打印机并在另一台机器上开始另一台打印机。


在运行这些机器几乎整整一年后,大部分材料都运行起来 PLA我们对他们印象非常深刻,事实上他们正计划购买更多的打印机,除了推车之外还要创造一个完整的房间。 我们的目标是拥有足够的打印机,我们的课程从来没有瓶颈。 我们在任何特定的时间都有150工程专业学生完成最终需要打印的项目,因此我们正处于为更多打印机设计额外空间的阵痛。 我们的几台打印机已经咀嚼了几乎5千克的材料,但问题很少,而且故障很少。

分享此文章 :

相关文章

杰伊的3D印刷课堂

19日09月2018年

Building a 3D Printer Farm for Education

——————————— Dr. AJ Laarman, West Michigan Aviation Academy

Creating a 3D printer “farm” does not have to be costly. Here is a plan created by students and faculty at the West Michigan Aviation Academy in Grand Rapids, Michigan with a tight budget, great hopes, and high ambitions. The purpose of this project was to significantly increase the hands-on exposure to 3D printing for all students and in all departments.

It began with applying for and securing a Community Fund grant from our local Bosch, USA company. The grant would allow us to purchase a large number of low-cost 3D printers that were easy to program and operate. User training time needed to be kept to a minimum to provide a functionality-friendly environment and immediate student success. Inexpensive printer material cost was also a priority because of the anticipated volume of use.

After receiving the grant and researching several 3-D printer models and companies, we decided to purchase Cetus 3D printers directly from Tiertime. We felt this printer would meet our needs and was inexpensive enough to simply swap-out a printer that might need adjustments or was experiencing technical issues.

The second challenge was to create some type of mobile cart to house the printers with the additional goal of not having to remove them from the cart during printing operation. Meeting this second objective created three new challenges: 1. Design a spool mechanism to feed each printer; 2. Make sure a standard 120 volt AC, 20 amp electrical distribution system could handle the number of printers; and 3. Allow for a single-screen monitor and laptop computer to easily access each printer for uploading programs and monitor printing progress.

Below is a material list and to the right is simple diagram of how a printer farm could be constructed using materials purchased at a local box store or lumber yard.

Quantity Description Use

3 ¾” x 4’ x 8’ plywood Sides, bottom and shelving

2 4’ x 8’ Masonite , Back panel of unit

3 ½” x 2” edging , Trim and support for front of shelves

4 Heavy duty casters , Unit mobility

1 Laptop computer , Uploading programs to printers

1 Flat screen monitor ,Monitoring program & printer status

4 120 volt AC power strips , Power distribution

3 7 port generic usb hub ,Printer communication

1 Windows PC (w/ touchscreen), Printer control

1 LED Light strip , Lighting

We were fortunate to discover a food display case that was no longer being utilized by our food service department. After many collaborative design discussions, students removed all the refrigeration equipment and existing shelving. The next challenge was to determine the number of printers that could realistically function within the existing structure while keeping electrical amperage needs below 20 amps. A material spool-feed system was also designed which allowed for ease of material flow to each printer and simple spool changes. In the end, our farm could accommodate fifteen (15) printers on three different shelves. Cart mobility was important to us in order to move the farm to different departments within the school who wanted to use it for several days at time.

After demolition and removal of all non-structural items (including entire cooling system), we test fit all of the Cetus printers (picture to the right) to get proper spacing and shelving height. After the test fit, the aluminum base of each printer as well as the shelf was drilled and bolted together, securing the printers for mobile transport. With the printers removed, power supplies and cable routing were installed out of sight and below the lowest shelf.

Notice the initial bowing in the shelves in the picture, we decided to add a rigid supporting structure for the printer shelves. After all the cables were installed, we installed a Windows PC in the bottom of the unit for the controlling of the printers. For the connection of the printers, we installed one USB hub at the beginning of each shelf for all of the printers to plug into. Then, we ran 3 USB hubs (with extensions) to the computer for connection of the printers.

Once the computer was up and running and the Cetus software was installed, it was just a matter of installing and naming one printer at a time. For this step, I would recommend putting a labeled piece of tape on each printer before hand to help you better organize your naming convention.


During this process, we also found it was important to only have one printer turned on and connected at a time. Once all printers were named properly, we turned them all on and were pleasantly surprised to see them all showing up nice and neat in the included software from Cetus3D. The software made the connection to each printer seamless and simple as you could start a print on one machine and then just to select a new printer and start another print on a different machine.


After running these machines pretty hard for almost a full year with the majority of the material being PLA, we are super impressed with them and in fact are making plans to purchase even more printers to create a whole room full of them in addition to the cart. Our goal is to have enough printers where we never have a bottleneck for our classes. We have well over 150 engineering students at any given time working on projects that eventually need to be printed out, so we’re in the throes of designing additional space for more printers. Several of our printers have chewed through nearly 5 kg of material already with very minor issues and very few breakdowns.

Share This Article :

Related Posts