ABS printing temperatures for UP!

Talk about anything.
3dpriningfan

ABS printing temperatures for UP!

Post by 3dpriningfan » Thu May 16, 2013 8:41 pm

Hello,

I am new to UP! printers.

What are the printing temperatures for ABS? I heard they were high compare with the other personal printers.

Are they the same for different models?

Thank you,

Kevin

roller

Re: ABS printing temperatures for UP!

Post by roller » Fri May 17, 2013 4:12 am

From memory the extruder temp is 260C - the genuine filament that comes from PP3DP/Up! is designed for this higher temp and I must say, as a long time reprapper, it does give some nice results especially with part/support separation. To use regular ABS filament many choose to make a mod to the printer to give lower temperature options otherwise printing with 3D party ABS at 260C makes support removal very difficult.

JuliaDee

Post by JuliaDee » Fri May 17, 2013 12:09 pm

3dpriningfan wrote:Hello,

I am new to UP! printers.

What are the printing temperatures for ABS? I heard they were high compare with the other personal printers.

Are they the same for different models?

Thank you,

Kevin
To further elaborate on roller's reply, some other printers use a temp of more like 230C, which is what the "mod" (Octave temperature control switch) gives you on the Up.

roller

Post by roller » Fri May 17, 2013 2:51 pm

Yes, indeed. Though I'm a fan of a trimpot so you can dial in whatever temp you like.

3dpriningfan

Post by 3dpriningfan » Fri May 17, 2013 3:29 pm

Does UP! use only the same material as support (break-away)?

What is the price of OEM filament?

JuliaDee

Post by JuliaDee » Sat May 18, 2013 3:51 am

3dpriningfan wrote:Does UP! use only the same material as support (break-away)?

What is the price of OEM filament?
The Up prints with only one material at a time, so the support material is whatever you're printing your part with.

Check http://www.octave.com/3D-Printer-Filame ... index.html for OEM filament prices.

Julia