UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Support for UP Software. To report a bug, post with a title [BUG REPORT]. To request a feature, post with a title [FEATURE REQUEST]
Post Reply
User avatar
Tiertime_Betty
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:17 am

UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by Tiertime_Betty » Fri Sep 29, 2017 1:24 am

UP Studio G-code Tutorial.pdf.zip
(1.07 MiB) Downloaded 1131 times

tel
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:35 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by tel » Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:36 am

Anyone tried this on the Up Box. Remember reading that someone bricked the CPU using g-code so want to make sure its been tested.

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:44 am

Great work guys, thankyou for doing this. Very much looking forward to giving it a go.

One question though, wouldn't it make more sense to save the config profiles and have them as a download on the support page, or better still added to the studio installer so update notifications are included?

I'll be trying it on a printer that is under warranty soon.

Small error on page 7, (Step 5: Configure Printer) the first screengrab is for the mini2 but the title states "UP Plus 2 Configuration".

Cheers,

Owen S.

User avatar
3DWP
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 4:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by 3DWP » Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:14 am

That was me. My wonderful Up Box that almost never let me down, in the prime of it's life.

Up Studio supported gcode upload, I had one file that was made for the Up Box in Simplify3D and then my CPU didn't want to initialize anymore :cry:

I had hopes it can be revived because it just keeps beeping in stead of the normal CPU death but TT gave no options for this.

TierTime said it was shipped then and then so no warranty. First time TierTime let me down.

User avatar
3DWP
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 4:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by 3DWP » Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:20 am

Anyway, still great it looks like we can use gcode so thanks TierTime for that.

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:30 am

Hi again.

Just placed an order for S3D so will report back on results in due course. :)

TT if it doesn't work I'm sending you the invoice ;)

Cheers,

Owen S.

vmstech
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:23 am
Location: Bucks, United Kingdom

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by vmstech » Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:44 am

Very exciting news: big thank you Tiertime!!!
Will give it a try next week and let you know if I have any issues.

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:17 am

Thanks TT,

Query though.

Multiplier is 20 and Retraction is 1800?

Those seem awfully high.

My old printer retraction was around 20mm/s. (2 Centimetres)

1800mm/s = 180cm = 1.8meters.

I just replaced my stepper...not sure I want to risk that without confirmation.

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Sat Sep 30, 2017 5:33 am

brunningm wrote:Thanks TT,

Query though.

Multiplier is 20 and Retraction is 1800?

Those seem awfully high.

My old printer retraction was around 20mm/s. (2 Centimetres)

1800mm/s = 180cm = 1.8meters.

I just replaced my stepper...not sure I want to risk that without confirmation.

I'm quoting myself so that people can see where I made my error.

The instructions are screenshots, and show mm/min not mm/s.

In Simplify3d, the default is mm/Min, but it can be changed to mm/s (Which I have done)

It's 30mm/s retraction speeds....which sounds so much more reasonable.

So...word of warning...make sure your settings are set the same way as these.

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:36 am

lbbetty wrote:
UP Studio G-code Tutorial.pdf.zip

This tutorial doesn't work for my UPBOX+

I've gone through and confirmed the settings and gcode scripts three times.

Each time, the extruder and bed heat. Once they reach temperature, they stop heating and cool, this shows in UPstudio as Red, then white nozzle.

Then, something just plain ridiculous happens. The Bed goes all the way to the bottom, and the nozzle moves all the way forward, and continues even after hitting the end and grinding on the belt.

The only way to stop it is to turn the machine off physically at the back...Can't even just hold the de-initialise button down as that only makes the bed bounce continuously off the bottom.

I'm using Simplify3d - Latest version which is 4.0.

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:51 am

brunningm wrote:
lbbetty wrote:
20170930_194409.jpg
20170930_194409.jpg (2.63 MiB) Viewed 15698 times

This tutorial doesn't work for my UPBOX+

I've gone through and confirmed the settings and gcode scripts three times.

Each time, the extruder and bed heat. Once they reach temperature, they stop heating and cool, this shows in UPstudio as Red, then white nozzle.

Then, something just plain ridiculous happens. The Bed goes all the way to the bottom, and the nozzle moves all the way forward, and continues even after hitting the end and grinding on the belt.

The only way to stop it is to turn the machine off physically at the back...Can't even just hold the de-initialise button down as that only makes the bed bounce continuously off the bottom.

I'm using Simplify3d - Latest version which is 4.0.
And I worked out what it was.

In the ending script - G28 X-2 Y2; home axes

It's not being read properly, or the axis information in the gcode screen isn't accurate. Turning that line off gives me a completed gcode print.

So, now it's a matter of fiddling with settings in S3D to see if I can improve the print quality further.

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Sat Sep 30, 2017 12:57 pm

Anyone who knows how to use gcode know what I would need to put into the starting script to get it to run that single line purge?

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:29 am

OwenSparks wrote:Great work guys, thankyou for doing this. Very much looking forward to giving it a go.

One question though, wouldn't it make more sense to save the config profiles and have them as a download on the support page, or better still added to the studio installer so update notifications are included?

I'll be trying it on a printer that is under warranty soon.

Small error on page 7, (Step 5: Configure Printer) the first screengrab is for the mini2 but the title states "UP Plus 2 Configuration".

Cheers,

Owen S.
These are working for me

Firmware Settings - https://mega.nz/#!jZ4wlTqJ!DuH8Kchqtbdo ... 0k8Tb2D2Po
FFF Profile Settings - https://mega.nz/#!DYYEEBDS!XjmO6lVrDi4_ ... RHibxDru4Q

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Sun Oct 01, 2017 8:04 am

Couple of things I've noted during gcode printing.

1) You don't get an ETA in UPstudio.
2) Upstudio doesn't seem to recognise that the printer is printing, allowing you to 'initialise' and kill the current print (Learned that the hard way)
3) You can't seem to pause a Gcode print via the printer buttons
4) You can't control the print from Upstudio during gcode ie. You can't Pause or Stop the print. The software doesn't appear to recognise that there is a print even happening. The only clue is that the Temperature sensors are on.

Otherwise...so far so good.

kcarbuncle
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 3:12 pm

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by kcarbuncle » Sun Oct 01, 2017 11:00 am

Also it seems to lack the ideal settings for printing speeds? (anyone already has some tested numbers that work?)

Good start though.. Hopefully someone makes a profile for Cura or Slic3r as a free alternative (looking forward to using the variable layer height on the Prusa edition...)

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Mon Oct 02, 2017 6:23 am

brunningm wrote:
OwenSparks wrote:Great work guys, thankyou for doing this. Very much looking forward to giving it a go.

One question though, wouldn't it make more sense to save the config profiles and have them as a download on the support page, or better still added to the studio installer so update notifications are included?

I'll be trying it on a printer that is under warranty soon.

Small error on page 7, (Step 5: Configure Printer) the first screengrab is for the mini2 but the title states "UP Plus 2 Configuration".

Cheers,

Owen S.
These are working for me

Firmware Settings - https://mega.nz/#!jZ4wlTqJ!DuH8Kchqtbdo ... 0k8Tb2D2Po
FFF Profile Settings - https://mega.nz/#!DYYEEBDS!XjmO6lVrDi4_ ... RHibxDru4Q
Thank-you sir, appreciate you sharing info.

A snafu with our shopping dept. has resulted in my S3D key being sent to an email address that doesn't exist :roll: , so once that arrives I'll try and catch up with you folks 8-)

Cheers, Owen S.

brunningm
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:44 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by brunningm » Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:28 am

No Problems.

I'm trying to work out how to successfully end the print without the XY axes hitting the end and trying to keep going.

I'm fairly certain it has to do with the bed and offsets.

The gcode command 'G28' is to home the axes, and according to the RepRap wiki, ignores any Co-Ordinates. So, for example

'G28 X-2 Y2' (Which is what TT have advised)

Should be the same outcome as

G28 X Y

If I tell the script to ignore that line, The Z level lowers until it hits the end stop, then comes up and stops. However, the printer remains on. Heating stops however which is good.

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:58 am

brunningm wrote:No Problems.
Hi.

I'm just running a second set of eyes over your profile and believe there is a mix up in "scripts" section.

The contents of your "starting script" is what is in the TT's guide for the "ending script".
The ending script is different too.
S3Dconfig.jpg
S3Dconfig.jpg (116.47 KiB) Viewed 15597 times
Cheers,

Owen S.

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:00 am

Note for TT - It looks like you've used an older version of S3D for the screengrabs. Any change you could revise them for V4?

Cheers, Owen S.

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: UPStudio G-code Tutorial

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:59 am

Hi folks.

Question on nozzle height config. I've got as far as printing, but only "string" 3mm above the build plate not on it :D

The inbuilt nozzle detection in S3D assumes that we can talk directly to the printer which we can't (yet?). And studio sends the file straight to the printer without the opportunity to add an offset.

Prodding the config all I can see is the option to frig one or other of these settings:-
S3D nozzle Height.jpg
S3D nozzle Height.jpg (162.09 KiB) Viewed 15593 times
Anyone found a better way?

Cheers,

Owen S.

Post Reply