A total Newbie with his first printer... The Box on my desk!

Share your experience with UP BOX and UP BOX+
NAST555

A total Newbie with his first printer... The Box on my desk!

Post by NAST555 » Wed Aug 05, 2015 2:47 pm

Hi all,

I am totally new to 3d printing and printers and have been doing some research into buying one for some time. I did quite a bit of research and settled on the UP! Box, paid for it, and the next day it was delivered from the agents over here (South Africa).

I had already downloaded the manual for it before it had arrived and had gone through it a few times thinking "Ummm well let's see what happens" . It got here in it's nice big box and I started opening it up. First impressions were really well packaged and really neat. I went throught the whole setup procedure and printed the bunny... I thought "could it be this damn easy?". As a cnc machinist by trade it seemed pretty easy so I imported a few gears that I had drawn in my CAD into the up and printed away.... "CLICK CLICK CLICK" and no filament coming out of the nozzle :shock: OK so back to the manual, I stripped the head off as described and cleaned the drive gear and put it all back together. I didn't however auto level it again and this is where the "fun" started. After taking the print plate out after the bunny print and putting it back in again I didnt notice that some of the holding screws were loose (either that or I printed the bunny on a flat section of the plate) and when it was done with the raft layer it pushed the whole plate towards the door :o So I stopped it,cleaned it all, and put the plate back on. After the plate was in position I played a bit with the screws till they were juuuuust loose enough for me to remove the plate... That problem solved :) Extrude it again to get it all going and I was on my way again.