Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 too?)

Support for UP Software. To report a bug, post with a title [BUG REPORT]. To request a feature, post with a title [FEATURE REQUEST]
Post Reply
roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 too?)

Post by roller » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:22 am

When I print curved objects with Up software version 1.4 the full layers are not meeting the edge resulting in very weak and ugly prints. The same print was much better, touching the edges though by no means a really solid fill. See the image below for my 1.4 issues - is anyone else finding this with their prints and are there any suggestions for a fix?
Attachments
IMG_0943.jpg
IMG_0943.jpg (83.72 KiB) Viewed 9741 times

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by roller » Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:32 am

Nobody can comment on this? I am finding these prints are really weak and not of much use. Is anyone finding this in 1.18?

marto
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by marto » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:31 pm

Is this the underside? I have tried 1.4 and 1.18 but I settled on 1.18 as it seemed to give me better results.

Steve

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by roller » Mon Jan 21, 2013 3:38 pm

Yes, that's the underside so it should be a solid fill with no gaps. The algorithm should be the same between versions otherwise that would be complete madness to keep multiple streams of print settings development going. Looks like I will have to fire up another VM to test this print in 1.18 though I am going to be seriously upset if I am back to using Windows again.

marto
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by marto » Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:49 pm

As I use work in solidworks this isn't a big deal for me. Inside vm on mac of course.

I would assume a common code base but 1.18 vs 1.4 sorta makes me think it isn't.

Would be good to have an official work on this.

walter
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 4:43 am

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by walter » Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:15 am

I'm using 1.18 and get similar gaps sometimes. I think in my case it happens when my platform is too low when I'm printing raftless. If it's too high, I end up with too much fill, making the outline wobbly. I don't know if that's the same as what you're showing though. In your case the material seems really biased towards one side which I don't think I've seen.

If you getting the gaps while printing raftless, you might try increasing the nozzle height by about 0.05mm to see if it makes a difference.

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by roller » Thu Jan 24, 2013 7:05 am

These are with a full raft. Nozzle height makes no difference and it result in really weak parts. I would print them in 1.3 where it was ok but it is now refusing to print (crashes)

tabi
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 8:42 am

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by tabi » Tue May 07, 2013 8:51 am

I got the same problem when printing in version 1.4 (Mac), I first thought it was that I was printing in too low z-res (0.4mm) but now I realize it should still come to the edge.

I was also getting some slight "holes" (the lines not being close enough everywhere).

I've printed the same model in Win7 (running inside Parallels desktop v8) and then it worked fine (though this time I printed in 0.2mm).

I can do a test in 0.4mm if you wish and see if this gets the same result.

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Full layers not meeting edges in 1.4 (presumably 1.18 to

Post by roller » Thu May 09, 2013 9:54 am

Hmm, so it's sounding like another Mac only issue - I ended up just cursing the Up! software and printing it on the reprap. Any further testing you can come up with would be great and then we can submit it as a bug :)

Post Reply