Difference between Mac and Windows software

Support for UP Software. To report a bug, post with a title [BUG REPORT]. To request a feature, post with a title [FEATURE REQUEST]
lukeott

Difference between Mac and Windows software

Post by lukeott » Fri Jun 28, 2013 7:07 pm

Hi
I'm new to 3D printing but after a fair bit of research I am going to buy an Up! Plus.
I've read on this forum that there are differences between the Mac and Windows version of the Up software. Could anyone tell me what those differences are?
I am planning on running it with a Mac running Mountain Lion, but could if I absolutely have to use an old Win XP laptop.

Thanks.

Luke

roller

Re: Difference between Mac and Windows software

Post by roller » Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:48 am

Essentially, the Mac version crashes more, is about two versions older in terms of features (ie less new features), has a much clunkier interface, put locked files in stupid places on your system disk and has menu options that are entirely decorative. That said it does enough most of the time as long as you don't need a latest printing feature and I find I only fire up Windows for a print once a fortnight and I probably could have gotten by with the Mac version if I was desperate. Print quality out of it is just fine.

lukeott

Post by lukeott » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:05 pm

Oh.
Can't say I'm warming to the idea of running the Mac software after your glowing review :lol:
I obviously don't know what the latest printing features are that I'd be missing out on but I figure that as a newbie I could do with all the help that's available in the software.

roller

Post by roller » Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:10 am

The Mac software works and it's actually fine to use especially if you don't use the Windows software and find out what better designed software looks like. To see what features you miss look at the release history and see what you get in the latest Windows version and know you wont get that.