Button

Support for UP mini. To report a bug, post with a title [BUG REPORT]. To request a feature, post with a title [FEATURE REQUEST]
Post Reply
RSeeG
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:22 am

Button

Post by RSeeG » Sat Jan 17, 2015 11:56 am

Had my Up Mini for two weeks now and it's been running smoothly. The only thing I can't figure out is the button on the front of the case. It seems to be a proximity switch but works very erratically. I like to use it to turn on the light. Any suggestions to make it more reliable. Thx.
Last edited by RSeeG on Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
7Schlaefer
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:39 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Re: Button

Post by 7Schlaefer » Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:31 pm

Push the button 2times. But not fast as a mouse click. More like speed you walk.

Not click click
More like cliiiiiiiiick -------- cliiiiiiiiiiiick

dario.t
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:42 am
Location: Pforzheim / Germany

Re: Button

Post by dario.t » Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:55 am

I do have two views on that:

- my first Mini (RIP 27.12.2014)
2 cliiicks, like 7Schlaefer wrote
-> LED lights on

- my second Mini
1 click
-> LED lights on, turns off after 2-3 Minutes (have to messure the time)

andif62
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:26 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Button

Post by andif62 » Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:55 pm

Great, will have to try this with my mini. Didn´t know up to now that there is a light :oops:

RSeeG
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:22 am

Re: Button

Post by RSeeG » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:51 pm

I noticed that I can turn the light on and off using a slow double click of the button... BUT only after the printer has been initialised and before printing starts.

User avatar
7Schlaefer
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:39 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Re: Button

Post by 7Schlaefer » Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:09 pm

? I can do it while printing. Sometimes i have to try multiple times, i think that the CPU busy :D

brainzilla
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:41 pm

Re: Button

Post by brainzilla » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:48 am

Yeah it seems that the button is not really interrupt-driven, but only checked in the main-loop of the firmware. Or the interrupt is disabled while certain functions are working.
That is kinda better-safe-than-sorry, but also defeats the purpose of having a single switch for multiple options.
I just wait till the printer beeps and then hammer the button till the light goes on.

As a further note: It would be nice if the printer remembered the on/off and kept it for the next boot-up…

User avatar
7Schlaefer
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:39 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Re: Button

Post by 7Schlaefer » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:44 pm

I just added two led strips, connected them to a free fan connector directly on the mainboard.

Now i have static led light :)

RSeeG
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:22 am

Re: Button

Post by RSeeG » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:35 am

Got frustrated with not being able to turn the light on and off. Opened up the top and removed the board behind the switch. Turns out that it uses a micro switch. Reassembled and now when I press the button I can hear the micro switch clicking which I couldn't hear before. Anyway reassembling the board seemed to solve the problem so all working fine now.

Post Reply