Pla problems

Support for UP mini. To report a bug, post with a title [BUG REPORT]. To request a feature, post with a title [FEATURE REQUEST]
Form

Pla problems

Post by Form » Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:07 pm

Gday everyone,
I have a up mini (3days old) and though I have heaps of cad experience I'm new to cam (I usually sub out for that). Ive printed seamlessly with the original white abs but wanted to lost wax cast something so bought some pla from a aust based store. I haven't been able to successfully print anything yet. It sometimes starts but then has trouble feeding. The feed makes a stuttering sound and nothing further extrudes from the head. The pla is pink (if that makes any difference) and is also 1.75mm (if that makes any difference).
Any ideas ?
Ps I was warned regarding the use of different brand pla use but as there isn't one for the mini yet and I have some work backed up I took the punt.

marto

Re: Pla problems

Post by marto » Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:25 pm

I have been wondering if anyone had tried PLA yet.

A few of the issues which have been documented on the plus is the PLA heating up and then getting stripped out so it fails to feed. Also it softening before going into the extruder and not pushing through properly.

The stuttering noise you are hearing is probably your extruder losing steps. I wonder if its an issue with the extruder not being hot enough or it jamming.

Anyway interested to know how you go with this.

Steve

ftdesigns

Post by ftdesigns » Sun Dec 09, 2012 4:59 pm

i had the same issue on my plus with pla. either your nozzle is clogged or your gear has too much material stuck in it that its slipping. i mainly print with abs and get the gear slippage after doing many hours of printing, so now once a week and clean the gear regardless if it slips or not.. kind of like a PM (preventive maintenance).

pp3dp.nl

Post by pp3dp.nl » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:28 pm