Can't initialize UP

Support for UP Plus and UP Plus 2. To report a bug, post with a title [BUG REPORT]. To request a feature, post with a title [FEATURE REQUEST]
Post Reply
padorange
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:58 pm
Location: Cognac, France
Contact:

Can't initialize UP

Post by padorange » Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:10 am

My Up Plus do not work, initialization do not finished.

When initializing there the process :
1. Z axis initialize (often works, sometime a "clang" noise and a bad movement)
2. Bed axis initialize : only if Z axis initialize
3. Extruder axis : never moved

I Open the Up printer but do not notice something wrong : the end detector looks good, bend seems OK, all cables looks right.

Any clue ?

padorange
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:58 pm
Location: Cognac, France
Contact:

Re: Can't initialize UP

Post by padorange » Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:54 pm

I've done more investigating and tests.
First i remove all covers : i can see all motors and bends.
All bend seems OK, all limit switch are in place and seems OK (click when manually pressed).

Second i do some tests and found 2 bad behaviour during initialize but i can't determine the problem.

Case A :
- Switch Off
- move manually platform axis to the opposite of the limit switch
- Z axis is bottom (gravity)
- switch ON, then Initialize
- Z axis move up (away from switch) then go down to touch the limit switch : seems OK
- During this step Platform axis move towards its limit switch but do not reach it)
- At the moment Z is initialized : platform axis stop moving
- Nothing more occured (extruder axis do not move)
- LED is RED

if i press manually the platform axis switch during movement, nothing change

Case B :
- Switch Off
- move manually platform axis close to its limit switch or on it
- Z axis is bottom (gravity)
- switch ON, then Initialize
- Z axis move up (away from switch) then go down to touch the limit switch : seems OK
- During this step Platform axis move towards its limit switch but reach the switch and try to continue (motor clang)
- At the moment Z is initialized : platform axis stop moving (stop trying to push the switch)
- After another few seconds, sometime, the LED turn GREEN !
- But impossible to move the plaftorm (with the software) or to print or to re-initialize (extruder axis has not move)

In all case the printer do not works and extruder do to moved.
up-initialize.jpg
picture of the up+
up-initialize.jpg (220.27 KiB) Viewed 4550 times
i'm very pesimistic, i think they was multiple problems. i found strange :
- extruder axis do not moved,
- platform axis stop when Z axis was initialized
- platform axis switch limit seems to do not work

D3rax
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Can't initialize UP

Post by D3rax » Wed Jul 30, 2014 7:12 am

I'm not sure but it could be that your CPU is fried. Try searching the forum on 'Fried CPU' and check if your problems are the same. If your CPU has been fried your facing a 1000 dollar repair.....
Up! Plus

Post Reply