Page 1 of 1

Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 4:12 am
by alexzogh
I have an Up Plus 2

I pressed the stop print button in the middle of a print (filament spool was messed up), and now the printer won't print anything. When I turn it on, and bring up the software, I get a "printer system error layer 1" in the bottom right hand side of the software. When I initialize the printer, it goes to "prepared for printing", but there is nothing set up to print. I can't seem to get the printer out of this state.

I've unplugged it for several hours, I've held down the initialize toggle button. I've run up inspector and done a test SD card - which passed. Up inspector also says "prepared for printing" under the printer status"

Anyone have any ideas??

up.jpg
up.jpg (75.29 KiB) Viewed 9672 times
syserror.jpg
syserror.jpg (125.27 KiB) Viewed 9672 times
prepared.jpg
prepared.jpg (243.17 KiB) Viewed 9672 times

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:07 am
by Tiertime-Edward
Hi, did you try to click "Stop All" button in the maintenance box?

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:35 pm
by mb20music
When it shows "prepared for printing" means you can go ahead and start printing. Did you try to print something?

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:46 pm
by alexzogh
Hi,

Thanks for the replies. Yes, I have tried the stop all. No dice.

I can't actually start printing anything because it thinks it's printing, or preparing to print. The print button is grayed out.

I'm stumped.

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:06 am
by mb20music
Maybe try re-installling the UP! software?

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:02 am
by Tiertime-Edward
Hi, please try to re-install the software or update the ROM. If it still solves the problem, please contact your vendor or support at pp3dp dot com. Hope your printer work again soon.

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 8:11 am
by Tiertime-Edward
Hi Alex, can the initialize process be completed? Do you try to upload a model and click print? Maybe the printing status is stuck in process of heating the nozzle?

Please try to extrude material, and see if the material can be extruded. If material can't be extruded, please replace the nozzle heater.

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:17 pm
by alexzogh
Hi,

Answers to your questions:

I've uninstalled, rebooted, and reinstalled the up software without success. I tried to update the ROM, but received the error "The ROM file can't be used by the printer!" - I am picking the "Up Plus2(H) V6.09.ROM" file. I also tried the "up2.rom" file with the same error. All of the other ROM files seem obvious that they are not for a V2 printer.

The initialization process can be completed no problem. I can also extrude / withdraw and heat the bed form the maintenance window without problem. I can load a file, and "print preview", but the print button is greyed out, like it's already printing. Could it be the SD card, or a configuration file on SD card indicating it's in mid print?

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Sat Dec 07, 2013 5:00 pm
by ikumajp
Have you contacted support?
I am sure they can help you.
I have had the same problem before,
My problem was due to the y axis gear.
Because it can't initialize properly so it remains in error status.

What ever the case, I would contact support first.
I may sound bias but they are good people there :)

Re: Printer System Error Layer 1

Posted: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:41 am
by Tiertime-Edward
Hi Alex, please contact your vendor to replace the CPU. It is possible the CPU issue.