Raftless

Coffee place for all the Uppers. Discuss about UP techniques, sharing ideas and tips. Coffee is on the house. :)
Post Reply
LonV
Posts: 220
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:53 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Raftless

Post by LonV » Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:58 pm

Hey all,

I've been experimenting with raftless and I can get decent results, except for the fact that the software appears to print 1 fine layer of raft. This layer is basically impossible to remove. :)

Any ideas? I'm using the 1.18 beta.

-Lon

LonV
Posts: 220
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:53 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Re: Raftless

Post by LonV » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:03 am

Hmm...maybe I was drunk the last time I tried this. I swear it was printing a layer of raft...now it is truly raftless. Hmm, maybe I was using 1.17 before and I just thought I was using 1.18. :D

User avatar
wilsonj
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:26 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Raftless

Post by wilsonj » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:16 am

The beta version of 1.17 did this.
Regards
Jamie
3DPrinterGear.com.au

LonV
Posts: 220
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:53 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Re: Raftless

Post by LonV » Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:16 pm

Yay! I knew I wasn't crazy. I just printed an object (raftless) in the 1.18 beta and it printed a single, thin layer of raft slightly (1mm?) larger than my model. It may be a combination of settings I'm using that's triggering this...but it does still happen. I'll do some experimenting later to see if I can figure out what triggers this.

vindicarblack
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:00 am

Re: Raftless

Post by vindicarblack » Sat May 03, 2014 2:45 am

I have the same issue - I make sure the model is at "0" z height, and "no raft" is selected, but no matter what i do i always get a one layer raft - really frustrating. Is there some pro trick I'm missing?

outsider
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:08 pm

Re: Raftless

Post by outsider » Wed Jan 28, 2015 7:48 pm

Post some pictures of this draft layer.
I've never had this happen to me.
adrian.
My Blog

User avatar
DrewPetitclerc
Posts: 580
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 7:39 am
Location: Silicon Valley California
Contact:

Re: Raftless

Post by DrewPetitclerc » Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:05 pm

Did you update the ROM files when you began using the new software versions?
My work "UP! Plus" are using:
software 2.13
ROM V6.070
Firmware V3.05

Regards
Drew
Drew Petitclerc
Petitclerc Designs
Owner/Senior Principal Designer, prototype, tooling and test equipment design and 3D printing
http://flash-graphics.deviantart.com/
http://www.thingiverse.com/DrewPetitclerc

Post Reply