UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Talk about anything.
Post Reply
chang
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:13 am

UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by chang » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:14 am

Hi,
has anybody tried to move the on/off switch to the front?
Reason: My UP2 Plus stand in an enclosure and it is not very comfortable get to the rear switch.
I think it should not be too difficult, but I'm not an electrican.
Sorry, if it has been already discussed.

teamcarlisle
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:00 am

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by teamcarlisle » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:35 am

Whats wrong with just using the standby switch thats already on the front?

Carnivore
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 8:38 pm

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by Carnivore » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:48 pm

You could do what I do and just remove the power switch and have it always on.

chang
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:13 am

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by chang » Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:26 am

I like to switch off completly. 'Standby' is not switch off.

Carnivore, what are you doing by some hardware maintenance. Pulling the plug?

mb20music
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:35 am
Location: USA

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by mb20music » Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:50 am

The reason why the power switch is on the back of the unit is so one doesn't accidentally hit the switch and turn off the power during a print, But if you want to move the power switch to the front it shouldn't be too difficult and you do not need any electrical skills.

Have you ever removed the bottom cover on your printer? There is plenty of wire on the power switch to reach the front of the printer. You can simply remove the power switch by pressing in on the sides of the switch and push it out. First of course you need to disconnect the 4 wires going into the switch. Make sure you label the wires so you know where they go when you reinstall the switch.

You can use a Dremel or similar tool to cut a rectangular opening on the front the same size as the opening on the back. Insert power switch into opening, reconnect the wires and you are done.

Image

chang
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:13 am

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by chang » Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:59 pm

mb20music, you are my hero. Thanks for your genuine information :o

Thanks again. :)

stormychel
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:13 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by stormychel » Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:07 pm

I've put my Mini on a radio-controlled outlet. This way I can also switch it on/off without using the back switch.

I also programmed the switch in my Domoticz system but don't have a real use for it except accidentally hitting the switch and ruining my print. Should disable it :)
@stormychel

mb20music
Posts: 375
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:35 am
Location: USA

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by mb20music » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:01 pm

stormychel wrote:I've put my Mini on a radio-controlled outlet. This way I can also switch it on/off without using the back switch.
Yes, I was thinking I should suggest this also. Maybe get a remote controlled switch like this one...


http://www.ebay.com/itm/Two-WIRELESS-RF ... 4897.l4275

User avatar
JuliaDee
Posts: 959
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:00 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by JuliaDee » Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:58 am

I use this http://www.amazon.com/Power-Switch-DLI- ... 6977844310

Between it, webcam, and remote access to my office PC, I have complete control over the printer from anywhere (except for removing prints and putting in a clean build plate :) )

ming
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:06 am
Location: Georgia USA

Re: UP2 Plus - Move on/off switch to the front

Post by ming » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:35 pm

I use a belkin wemo switch and leave the UP# on/off switch on all the time (PITA to get to with my enclosure anyways)
Wit this i can even remotely turn on and off the printer - mine is 99% remote control
Dream@night / Holdit@sameday

Post Reply