Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Official Announcement from UP team
frankkolk
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:58 pm

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by frankkolk » Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:44 pm

Hi,

I'm on Mac 1.6.8 and can't seem to get the 1.4 software version to work / install properly.
After downloading and clicking the up_1.4.2.pkg I run the installer without problems, and it finishes with the message install was successful.

However the installer seems to create a folder called UP3 on Macintosh HD directory. But when i try to click to open it says that I don't have permission to view contents.
When I try to open via the terminal (sudo open UP3) I see an empty folder.

Also I tried to run disk utility manager > fix dependencies, but also this didn't fix it.

Can anyone help me please?

Thank you,
Frank

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by roller » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:11 pm

Frank, the Up program itself should be found in your Applications folder like any other Mac app but it seems the installer hasn't worked for some - maybe try launching it from spotlight (launched by pressing Command+Space or hitting the magnifier in the top right of your screen - sorry if this is patronisingly simple) - the app is just called "UP" so you can just put UP into the search and it should find it.

The UP3 folder on the root of your system drive (Macintosh HD) is just the folder of samples/spare parts. I have no idea why this ended up here - seems some install madness. If yours is indeed empty maybe that indicates the install didn't proceed past a certain point. You can take ownership of the folder safely either through the Get Info screen or chown/chmod commands and check it properly.

Oral
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:45 pm
Location: Turkey

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by Oral » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:48 am

DytHlt wrote:
Oral wrote:Hi,

First of all i like the new version of Up software . Nevertheless i have an issue with it. I couldn't make "set nozzle height" adjustment. Even though i could make platform adjustment well. The "set nozzle height" button should have redirected a question to user like that "Do test to confirm the setting?" and after "yes" clicked it should have asked "is the platform below the nozzle 0.2 to 0.8 mm ?" The new version doesn't give these questions. And the procedure(set nozle height) can't be done.

What should i do ?
It does not ask the questions like you say, but It does change the nozzle height.
Just to see it work, do a drastic change, like set the platform to 90, then click "set nozzle height".
I set the platform height to 90 and after it asked "set the platform 90?" , i confirmed by clicking to "yes". That's all. It never drew some test lines like before.
Do you know the ways of drawing test lines before printing job begins ?

frankkolk
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:58 pm

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by frankkolk » Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:58 pm

roller wrote:Frank, the Up program itself should be found in your Applications folder like any other Mac app but it seems the installer hasn't worked for some - maybe try launching it from spotlight (launched by pressing Command+Space or hitting the magnifier in the top right of your screen - sorry if this is patronisingly simple) - the app is just called "UP" so you can just put UP into the search and it should find it.

The UP3 folder on the root of your system drive (Macintosh HD) is just the folder of samples/spare parts. I have no idea why this ended up here - seems some install madness. If yours is indeed empty maybe that indicates the install didn't proceed past a certain point. You can take ownership of the folder safely either through the Get Info screen or chown/chmod commands and check it properly.
Roller, Thanks for the tips.
Now why didn't I think of taking ownership of the folder via the Get info screen? It indeed turned out to be empty, tried the install again and it turned out to be empty again. looking for 'up' in the search window only got me the empty UP3 folder and the older up software 1.2(3)
I decided to uninstall the previous version and try the installer again. This time it worked, Up software was nicely installed in the programs folder, the UP3 folder was again installed on Mac HD with permission only granted to X11 'macports'. So it might have to do with my set up. After taking ownership, now the folder contained the spare parts etc.

Thanks!

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by roller » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:37 am

It seems the install often creates the Up folder in the root with permissions other than the logged on user. Definitely an issue the Up! guys need to look at.

It might also be the installer fails to complete if the old software is already there. I have a habit of renaming old applications before installing newer version so I can keep both and perhaps that made it work without a hitch for me.

benglish
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by benglish » Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:52 am

benglish wrote:Hi Guys,

Another question about version 1.18:

Running Windows. Up! Plus.
The pause function. I paused the print to take a look at something. However, when I went to resume the print nothing happened. I hit the button (resume I think) and nothing happened. The print nozzle tem didn't change. I waited a for a few minutes (way longer than normal extruder warmup time) and decided something was wrong. I was going to stop the print and start over, but got distracted. About 5-10 minutes later the UP! started printing again. This has happened once before, but I didn't give it as much time.

Is this normal?

Addition:
At the end of the 4-hour print the platform lowered, then the extruder went to it's home position, then started wiggling back and forth quickly before going to the center and diving straight into the newly finished print! It melted a hole in the top before I could turn it off. I'm guessing this is related to the pause thing because it's never done this before. Thoughts?


+Blake
It just happened again! The extruder dove into the part at the end of the print. No pause this time though. Any ideas?

eyUP
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 3:23 pm

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by eyUP » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:07 am

It just happened again! The extruder dove into the part at the end of the print. No pause this time though. Any ideas?
Sounds like data corruption, try the SD card replace or re-seat trick and removing the USB cable once the print data has been sent.
Could also be grounding issues...
Fixing USB motherboard ground problem: http://www.pp3dp.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 779&p=7302 (I couldn't see the images there but someone may still have the originals)

benglish
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by benglish » Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:30 pm

eyUP wrote:
It just happened again! The extruder dove into the part at the end of the print. No pause this time though. Any ideas?
Sounds like data corruption, try the SD card replace or re-seat trick and removing the USB cable once the print data has been sent.
Could also be grounding issues...
Fixing USB motherboard ground problem: http://www.pp3dp.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 779&p=7302 (I couldn't see the images there but someone may still have the originals)
Thanks! I'll give it a try.

joeb
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by joeb » Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:51 am

Sorry must be doing a DUMB
Currently running V1.16 and tried to update to v1.18
when I download I get setup.rar not exe
What am I missing
Cheers
Joe

User avatar
wilsonj
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:26 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by wilsonj » Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:38 pm

Hi Joe,

the extension .rar means the files are compressed using WinRAR.

You can download it from http://www.rarlab.com/download.htm Then uncompress the files and you should be good to go.

Cheers
Jamie
Regards
Jamie
3DPrinterGear.com.au

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by roller » Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:26 pm

I wish we could ditch RAR and just use ZIP which is supported on every operating system these days. RAR is the compressor of pirates

User avatar
JuliaDee
Posts: 959
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 10:00 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by JuliaDee » Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:24 pm

roller wrote:I wish we could ditch RAR and just use ZIP which is supported on every operating system these days. RAR is the compressor of pirates
Agree!

DytHlt
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 8:30 pm

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by DytHlt » Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:23 pm

just download 7zip. Completely free, open source, and supports pretty much every form of compression out there. Faster too.
www.7zip.com

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by roller » Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:24 am

DytHlt wrote:just download 7zip. Completely free, open source, and supports pretty much every form of compression out there. Faster too.
http://www.7zip.com
Of course it does miss the "and Mac" part of the topic ... and also that rar is often blocked by a lot of networks due to the fact its the favourite of malware packagers everywhere. But yes ... 7zip is my archiver of choice when I'm slumming it on Windows.

onecaribou
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:12 am

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by onecaribou » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:40 am

roller wrote:
DytHlt wrote:just download 7zip. Completely free, open source, and supports pretty much every form of compression out there. Faster too.
http://www.7zip.com
Of course it does miss the "and Mac" part of the topic ....

How's that? You can download any of the three Mac versions of 7zip on their download page...

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by roller » Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:37 pm

onecaribou wrote:
roller wrote:
DytHlt wrote:just download 7zip. Completely free, open source, and supports pretty much every form of compression out there. Faster too.
http://www.7zip.com
Of course it does miss the "and Mac" part of the topic ....

How's that? You can download any of the three Mac versions of 7zip on their download page...
Well, as in, 7zip is the got to for Windows - but it's not so Mac friendly (I've always found it to be buggy when on up to date OSX releases unlike the Windows version which is rock solid) and we have better alternatives ... I like Zipeg which has always been kind to me.

User avatar
Rootz
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:24 pm
Location: I'm a Colney Heathen, UK
Contact:

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by Rootz » Thu May 16, 2013 8:36 pm

Right! I'm prepared to believe I'm a complete idiot but, it seems to me that Up! ver 1.18 for PC is a .rar file. Now, unless I'm very much mistaken, that's a Mac file. Surely, I should be downloading a .exe file. After all, that's what ver 1.17 is. No??

Please confirm that I am not circling the plughole labeled "insanity" and tell me where I can get 1.18 for PC.

Cheerz!

R :shock: tz

User avatar
wilsonj
Posts: 569
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:26 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by wilsonj » Fri May 17, 2013 1:26 am

No a .rar file is a compressed file, like winzip. You are downloading the right one.
Regards
Jamie
3DPrinterGear.com.au

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by roller » Fri May 17, 2013 4:24 am

wilsonj wrote:No a .rar file is a compressed file, like winzip. You are downloading the right one.
Yes, for some reason PP3dP/Up prefers to use an annoying compression algorithm preferred by crackers and pirates than use the common zip which is built into every major operating system by default! Dumb

User avatar
Rootz
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:24 pm
Location: I'm a Colney Heathen, UK
Contact:

Re: Up! Software new releases for both Windows and Mac

Post by Rootz » Fri May 17, 2013 3:17 pm

roller wrote:
wilsonj wrote:No a .rar file is a compressed file, like winzip. You are downloading the right one.
Yes, for some reason PP3dP/Up prefers to use an annoying compression algorithm preferred by crackers and pirates than use the common zip which is built into every major operating system by default! Dumb
Ah! Dear Roller. You beat me to it. :lol:

Doesn't explain why one rev is an exe and the next is a rar. I've downloaded 7-Zip, which kinda reminds me of a cross between the original pkunzip for windows and the kind of clunky user interface you see in TV cop dramas where they don't want to pay Microsoft a royalty for showing an image of Windows. They must be so proud and I'm sure there is a small army of softies who are only too pleased to argue the esoteric merits of using rar / 7-Zip. The fact remains, Up! Mini is an entry level machine and any aspect of the machine experience that is frustrating, confusing or just plain weird, should be stomped on like a leprous rat in an hotel kitchen.

Just my 'pinion, 'course. 8-)

Have a lovely weekend chaps!

Cheerz!

R :shock: tz

Post Reply