How good is the UP300 ?

Share your experience with UP300!
cadcam

How good is the UP300 ?

Post by cadcam » Tue Feb 26, 2019 6:39 pm

Dear All,

I wondered if users of the UP300 could give me a realistic view of it capabilities and comparison to the UP Box and other systems

I have been using UP systems for 7+ years and have great success with all including old Plus 1s which have been great workhorses. A number of years ago I wanted to buy a UP Box but the late delivery meant I had to go with another supplier to get the greater platform area, however I have never managed to get the quality of an UP. I have access to an UP box but would ideally like a new machine for a series of student projects coming up. Critical is

1) Good accuracy
2) High Quality surface finish
3) ABS
4) Thin walled structures

Possibilities included buying a Box+ (New or I have been offered a low use one secondhand), go for the UP300, of possibly go away from UP/Tiertime again - we run a number of Ultimakers etc. [I had toyed with buying a X5 but the cost and continuing delays are not filling me with confidence. The robustness of the structure looks very appealing for student use, but...]

However i wondered if the owners of UP300 would give a true review of their machines, inc answers to

1) There is a list of bugs/'it would be nice to have'... but are these show stoppers.
2) Would it be better to share a BOX for a while to wait for the UP300+ / upgrades?
3) Is there a significant quality up lift from a Box making the price difference worth it?
4) Is the buliding on the glass plates successful, to the point it could be routine use with students?
5) Do you think that better/similar results can be obtained with other supplier systems in the same price bracket? If yes, which ones?

Any feedback would be welcomed.

Many Thanks

cadcam

Re: How good is the UP300 ?

Post by cadcam » Thu Feb 28, 2019 4:43 pm