New User Questions

Share your experience with UP BOX and UP BOX+
Post Reply
RichScan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:20 pm

New User Questions

Post by RichScan » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:30 pm

Just finished my 1st print on my new Box+ (worked great). I had a couple questions...

Q1: Can I use PLA filament with the "out of the box" extruder or am I required to purchase a PLA Extruder to print PLA?

Q2: Can I fit non-TierTime spools in the Box+? I'm happy with the material but there are some colors made by other manufacturers that I wanted to use on my project.

Terrific experience with the printer so far!

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: New User Questions

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:06 pm

Hi and welcome.

(A1) In theory yes but in my experience no, the original extruder is not good at PLA, otherwise why bring out a dedicated extruder... That said I'm currently using the new PLA extruder on a an UPBOX and an UPBOX+ and the results are very good. Only problem I had was both the new bigger fans I received were faulty. I've since exchanged them for equivalent fans from a different manufacturer and they're working well.

(A2) Yes. Depending on the spool dimensions you might have to use a holder beside the machine but as long as the filament itself is 1.75mm then that's OK. You'll probably have to make a custom material profile within UpStudio and tweak the temps to get it to work for a particular filament but it's worth the effort.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,
Owen S.

RichScan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:20 pm

Re: New User Questions

Post by RichScan » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:25 pm

update: Up Box+ comes with the ability to host a 1kg spool out of the box. To do so you need connect the spool cylinder extension to the box (mine was a light blue) then use the 2nd spool cover which allows for a wider spool.

Also: The small thumb drive included in the box contains the design to print the spool extension.

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: New User Questions

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:28 am

Just be careful with the inner bore dimension when using the extension. Most 1kg spools I've tried have a larger bore so they'll hang down on the little TT shaft and rub on the bottom of the enclosure causing print failures. I just use external holders now.
Cheers, Owen S.

bjorn
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:00 pm

Re: New User Questions

Post by bjorn » Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:29 pm

Print a bushing!

Not able to draw one, post inner and outer dimensions and I'll fix you a .stl file

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: New User Questions

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:37 pm

bjorn wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 12:29 pm
Print a bushing!

Not able to draw one, post inner and outer dimensions and I'll fix you a .stl file
Hi, thanks for the offer, but I designed this as a workaround. They just sit on shelves under the printer and you feed whichever colour you need into the printer. Kinda wish TT offered a similar airtight version for the UP300.
Spools.JPG
Spools.JPG (96.42 KiB) Viewed 826 times
Cheers,
Owen S

bjorn
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:00 pm

Re: New User Questions

Post by bjorn » Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:21 pm

I see you use the term "work around" rather loosely.. :D

(I was thinking about the OP, if a bushing helps it's a 2 min job to upload)

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: New User Questions

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:43 pm

bjorn wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:21 pm
I see you use the term "work around" rather loosely.. :D
:idea: Says the man gutting his new machine and replacing just about everything :lol:
bjorn wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:21 pm
(I was thinking about the OP, if a bushing helps it's a 2 min job to upload)
Ah, good point!

Owen S.

bjorn
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:00 pm

Re: New User Questions

Post by bjorn » Tue Mar 12, 2019 3:02 pm

OwenSparks wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:43 pm
bjorn wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:21 pm
I see you use the term "work around" rather loosely.. :D
:idea: Says the man gutting his new machine and replacing just about everything :lol:
[/quote]
Lol; I'm not calling it a work around, its a solution ... the ultimate solution ... but we digress :D

RichScan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:20 pm

Re: New User Questions

Post by RichScan » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:45 pm

So wouldn't you know... I tried loading a 1kg spool from IC3D and it got stuck using the provided extension. Printed a spool holder & it's working great.

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2047554

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: New User Questions

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:57 am

richscan wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:45 pm
So wouldn't you know... I tried loading a 1kg spool from IC3D and it got stuck using the provided extension. Printed a spool holder & it's working great.

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2047554
Excellent, glad you've got it working.
Owen S.

softdata
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: New User Questions

Post by softdata » Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:57 am

Try printing these to use 1 kg spools.
http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1491672
http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3141619

I am using the 2nd one but I had to trim it some to make it work.

Post Reply