What may cause this?

Share your experience with UP BOX and UP BOX+
toto44
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:20 pm

What may cause this?

Post by toto44 » Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:33 pm

This is a cylindrical part. As you can see on the pic. some areas suddenly have a bigger diameter.
What can cause this?
Attachments
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (66.1 KiB) Viewed 13486 times
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (64.52 KiB) Viewed 13486 times
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (99.35 KiB) Viewed 13486 times

Diego.Giovany
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 4:54 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by Diego.Giovany » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:06 am

My UP BOX have the same problem... anyone from tiertime can help us?

User avatar
Tiertime-Jason
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 4:31 am

Re: What may cause this?

Post by Tiertime-Jason » Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:45 am

Could be caused by defective transmission pulley for X axis (front back movement).
The pulley that connecting the X motor with a short belt to the axis is not glued well, so under certain conditions, blacklash happens.

steelmans
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:18 am

Re: What may cause this?

Post by steelmans » Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:41 pm

Is it a bigger diameter or it is just offset to one side?

toto44
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by toto44 » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:59 pm

Hell

Yes it is really change in diameter, all around. Not just offset.

Tiertime, any other ideas? Can bot be a loose belt in one axis.

Matchpoint
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:50 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by Matchpoint » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:44 pm

what type of material is it?

steelmans
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:18 am

Re: What may cause this?

Post by steelmans » Wed Jan 27, 2016 7:15 pm

Looks like the layer height is changing too? Very strange!

toto44
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by toto44 » Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:05 pm

That is ABS

Matchpoint
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:50 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by Matchpoint » Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:08 pm

steelmans wrote:Looks like the layer height is changing too? Very strange!
agreed, what it actually looks like is that the layer thickness is changing randomly (.15mm to like .3mm)

What software version are you using? Have you tried printing something else aside from this object and noticed this as well?

User avatar
Tiertime-Jason
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 4:31 am

Re: What may cause this?

Post by Tiertime-Jason » Thu Jan 28, 2016 3:06 am

attachment=0]fox(01-28-10-33-24)(2).png[/attachment]

Note pulley at no.2 position, if the you move the printhead by holding A & B position and pushing back and forth.
You may able to notice the marker line on the no2 pulley is not aligned with the marker line on the rod, we used the marker line to maker sure the pulley and rod is glued together well. For the worst case, you can feel the backlash just by moving the printhead by hand.

If you found it is indeed the pulleys problem, you could contact your distributor, I think they will able to help you replace the transmission rod assembly.
Attachments
fox(01-28-10-33-24)(2).png
fox(01-28-10-33-24)(2).png (209.94 KiB) Viewed 13442 times

toto44
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by toto44 » Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:15 am

Hello,
I will check that this evening. But from what I have seen during last print, the marks are aligned.

Attached Pictures from the last print. It seems to be getting worse. I really want to solve this Problem. Any other ideas?

One Problem seems to be the pathes the printhead is running. I tried to Show in the Picture with the arrows. It would be better to print the Shell all around, and then the ribs. But the Printer is running as shown with the arrows. Any possibility to set this in the Software?

I printed this with the thin wall Option.
Attachments
ways.jpg
ways.jpg (44.57 KiB) Viewed 13415 times
ways2.jpg
ways2.jpg (78.53 KiB) Viewed 13415 times

Matchpoint
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:50 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by Matchpoint » Fri Jan 29, 2016 3:03 pm

toto44 wrote:Hello,
I will check that this evening. But from what I have seen during last print, the marks are aligned.

Attached Pictures from the last print. It seems to be getting worse. I really want to solve this Problem. Any other ideas?

One Problem seems to be the pathes the printhead is running. I tried to Show in the Picture with the arrows. It would be better to print the Shell all around, and then the ribs. But the Printer is running as shown with the arrows. Any possibility to set this in the Software?

I printed this with the thin wall Option.
For these pictures it looks like your nozzle height is set incorrectly and is rubbing each pass causing the problem. Try increasing your nozzle height and see if that helps. Do not rely on auto level or auto nozzle height.

To determine if this is the case, can you take a picture of the first layer the printer puts down?

User avatar
wackojacko
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: What may cause this?

Post by wackojacko » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:47 am

Hi, I also had an UP BOX with this exact fault. It is easy to fix, once you have the replacement bar.

Image

Ask your reseller to send you one of these X axis bars
Image

I have put together a guide for you to use:
http://3dprintingsystems.com/images/Rep ... %20BOX.pdf

I drink beer ;)
Bruce
http://www.3DPrintingSystems.com

Need help with your printer, check out our Youtube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/user/3dprinting ... /playlists

toto44
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by toto44 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:24 am

Thanks for this Bruce,
I did some more test, with some strange results.
Here I printed a cubic part with thin wall Option. The surface is good. What is strange, is that the wallthikness is 1,2mm, although in the stl file it is 0,4mm only?!

Second part is a airfoil with some internal ribs. Same Settings, but surface Quality is poor.

Anybody has an idea?
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (72.56 KiB) Viewed 13343 times

User avatar
wackojacko
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: What may cause this?

Post by wackojacko » Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:02 am

It looks like in a previous post you were told about the problem and I also said the same issue. Replace your back X bar.
Bruce
http://www.3DPrintingSystems.com

Need help with your printer, check out our Youtube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/user/3dprinting ... /playlists

User avatar
Tiertime-Jason
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 4:31 am

Re: What may cause this?

Post by Tiertime-Jason » Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:23 pm

The thin wall option expand unprintable walls to a printable thickness, therefore the printed part is thicker than the original design.

The X bar defect depends on the instantaneous torque on the transmission pulley, this usually appear on vigorous back and forth movement of the printhead, the high acceleration and deceleration of the printhead make the pulley turn around the rod slightly thus causing the slightly bigger perimeter or other surface defects.

User avatar
wackojacko
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: What may cause this?

Post by wackojacko » Thu Feb 04, 2016 5:59 pm

Jason is absolution correct!
Bruce
http://www.3DPrintingSystems.com

Need help with your printer, check out our Youtube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/user/3dprinting ... /playlists

toto44
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by toto44 » Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:27 pm

I contacted my dealer NODNA, lets see what happens. I will inform you.
Thanks for the help

User avatar
car3less
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:52 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Contact:

Re: What may cause this?

Post by car3less » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:52 pm

looks similar to my problem :)
Attachments
12736570_962603143821929_287841101_o.jpg
12736570_962603143821929_287841101_o.jpg (115.58 KiB) Viewed 13247 times

cederron
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 2:10 pm

Re: What may cause this?

Post by cederron » Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:24 pm

wackojacko wrote:It looks like in a previous post you were told about the problem and I also said the same issue. Replace your back X bar.
I'm the "happy" owner of a defective up box with a bad glued X bar.
Contacted TierTime but still waiting for a reply.
Where can i get a x bar ?

Post Reply