Up Box Processor

Share your experience with UP BOX and UP BOX+
Post Reply
cadcam
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 3:03 am

Up Box Processor

Post by cadcam » Sun Dec 13, 2015 2:07 pm

Apologies if this a duplicate posting, the previous one seem to go missing

We are reviewing 3D printers again, for use with students, last year we had to go with another supplier as the BOX was delayed. Hiwever, I am still a fan of the usability and normal reliability of the small UPs, but we (and others) have been hit by the processor failures seen in the Plus/minis. The repair costs of ~350ukp seems quite steep for what seems to be a design failure to protect the board agains static/ground loops etc. {Especially when you have to return the board to be, I assume, to be repaired at the cost a few dollars]

Given the success of the larger format printers, we bought last year we would probably go with the BOX for new printers, but the possibility (and therefore subsequent replacement costs) of the processor board would be significantly offputting.

Has anyone had problems with the Processors boards?

Many Thanks in advance for any thoughts/info

pp3dp.nl
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 6:18 pm
Location: Holland/The Netherlands

Re: Up Box Processor

Post by pp3dp.nl » Sun Dec 13, 2015 4:11 pm

I did not hear about problems with the Up Box processor. The Box is built differently, hopefully no problems with grounding. There was one flaw with the print head flat cable that when wiggled -could- get shorted but that has an updated bracket to fix the cable completely.

User avatar
wackojacko
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: Up Box Processor

Post by wackojacko » Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:50 pm

@cadcam, you know you can purchase a warranty extension that covers parts. If Denford don't offer it I know Afinia also offer this in the UK. The BOX is an awesome printer, it does have a few quirks but much better than the UP Plus/ mini.
Bruce
http://www.3DPrintingSystems.com

Need help with your printer, check out our Youtube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/user/3dprinting ... /playlists

Blakey
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:55 pm

Re: Up Box Processor

Post by Blakey » Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:59 pm

I have an Up Plus2 and the CPU blew up because of static electricity. I've been told by the supplier that they are very susceptible to static so discharging yourself before working with them is important. I was out of warranty so I bought another one.
Blakey.

mrt
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:51 am
Location: Adelaide Australia
Contact:

Re: Up Box Processor

Post by mrt » Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:44 am

We had one site that blew 2 CPU in 2 weeks while under warranty. It was static electricity that was the cause. A combination of work boots and carpet was suicide for the UP Plus 2. If you want to prevent this from happening again run a earth lead from the heated platform to the UP Plus 2 chassis.
Connect the earth lead to one of the screws that holds a spring clip on the platform and the other end to a screw on the X Axis Chassis.

Our customer has not further issues.
Michael
3D Printing Solutions
www.3dprintingsolutions.com.au

ricks01
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 6:07 pm

Re: Up Box Processor

Post by ricks01 » Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:47 pm

mrt wrote:run a earth lead from the heated platform to the UP Plus 2 chassis.
Connect the earth lead to one of the screws that holds a spring clip on the platform and the other end to a screw on the X Axis Chassis.
Pics would be nice

Post Reply