Up BOX horizontal lines

Support for UP BOX and UP BOX+. To report a bug, post with a title [BUG REPORT]. To request a feature, post with a title [FEATURE REQUEST]
Post Reply
Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Tue Aug 30, 2016 8:46 am

I am printing a model, it is 100 mm in height, settings are 0.1 mm layer, fine speed.

Some lines are showing on one axis, only where fingers are separating. I have reprinted same part twice and all lines on three models are precisely in the same place. Other surfaces on model are OK.

I thought that magnets didn't hold extrusion head well enough and used some rubber bands to secure it, but print quality didn't change, same lines in same places.

I also had same problems with 0.2 mm turbo prints, but I thought those were because of high speed.

What is the source of this problem?

I marked the lines on last pic, also you can see the orientation.
All pics are clickable.
Image
Image
Image

Owen Sparks aka Marksman
Posts: 610
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Owen Sparks aka Marksman » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:12 am

Is this with V2.1x or with the new "Studio" software?
Owen S.

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Tue Aug 30, 2016 10:21 am

2.18
I had similar problems with other files/models and thought it was because of high speed.
I Will add base to the model and print with same settings to see if this is Z-related.

Acris
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:30 pm

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Acris » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:10 am

Make sure that the magnets are secure to one another in the print heads housing. Sometimes the glued comes off and you will find your head will jiggle around during a print job and notice distortion in prints. Another thing I would do is inspect both X and Y axis. make sure everything lines up with the penned lines on the gears.

Best of luck.

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:42 am

Print head is secure, this is not it. I tied it with rubber bands and it is solid, but print was the same quality. Nothing is wrong with axis at my knowledge. I will do another prints, elevate and rotate model to get a clue.

JuanCR
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:31 am
Contact:

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by JuanCR » Tue Aug 30, 2016 1:42 pm

Testing if it could be a software bug.
All the parts printed at once, the only changing parameter is the wall thickness: from 1mm to 3mm. And you can see that the problem with the lines appears in 2.5mm (the most) and 3mm (in some heights).
Any idea?
Attachments
IMG_20160830_153723.jpg
IMG_20160830_153723.jpg (57.74 KiB) Viewed 19330 times
IMG_20160830_153712.jpg
IMG_20160830_153712.jpg (34.89 KiB) Viewed 19330 times

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Tue Aug 30, 2016 2:48 pm

These are two different problems, mine is shifting, your is wobbling.

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Wed Aug 31, 2016 7:17 am

Made some more test prints with height differences, in the middle is print from the first time.
Now I am starting to think this may actually be slicing problem, as at first prints were from original stl, other two were imported and edited in Tinkercad, and they have same pattern on both of them, but not like the first one. Also, short one was printed at Turbo speed (all others fine).
Image

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Thu Sep 01, 2016 7:02 am

Tried 2.15, same lines.
Will continue investigating the cause.

User avatar
wackojacko
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by wackojacko » Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:21 am

I think you have got an X axis shift. Print a tall square column. This might be from the back right gear slipping on the shaft.
Bruce
http://www.3DPrintingSystems.com

Need help with your printer, check out our Youtube channel.
https://www.youtube.com/user/3dprinting ... /playlists

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:18 am

I printed two round columns with offset on x axis, 200 mm height. Printed with no lines.

amd-tec
Posts: 286
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:16 am
Contact:

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by amd-tec » Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:56 pm

Liova wrote:I printed two round columns with offset on x axis, 200 mm height. Printed with no lines.
Could you share the stl- file you have printed?


Thanks,

amd-tec
"3D design with intelligent printing"
http://www.amd-tec.com

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:47 am

Tried printing some more models in different places on the bed. Same shifting as on the hand.
Files
hand https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2vEm5 ... p=drivesdk
Columns https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2vEm5 ... p=drivesdk

Hand printed as on first post, columns printed one in front of another when looking from the front door. Columns printed with no lines.

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Wed Sep 07, 2016 2:30 pm

wackojacko wrote:I think you have got an X axis shift. Print a tall square column. This might be from the back right gear slipping on the shaft.
Found older thread and image below looks very much like what I had, lines are in groups, but not on all heights.
Image[/quote]

What is most common pulley with slipping, what should I check first? Number 3?
Box X.png
Box X.png (90.93 KiB) Viewed 19194 times

Kingsten
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:35 am

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Kingsten » Thu Sep 08, 2016 8:40 am

I think 2 most likely, the second is 4. After initialization printer push-pull A and B, you can find who is loose.And then replace them.
Attachments
20160908162810.jpg
20160908162810.jpg (33.97 KiB) Viewed 19152 times

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:44 pm

So i tried finding the slipping gears, but didn't find any. Not sure about 4, it is hard to check.
But i found out that one of the brackets holding bearing on the shaft is broken, the one located between 2 and 3.

Fount model by 3DWP memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=12577
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1738378
He posted it here also viewtopic.php?f=38&t=55361&p=46979#p46979

Already printed three of them, will try installing instead of the broken one. After that if this is not the only cause, will try gluing all pulleys one by one.

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:49 pm

So i replaced the bracket with printed one, also found that gear on the motor (4 on scheme) is slipping
Here is the video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdozBt5NvB0
How do I fix that? What is the best way to remove the cotter on the shaft?

User avatar
3DWP
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 4:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by 3DWP » Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:29 pm

Cool! Nice to see somebody used that model. It saved me some time too and I think it's a strong part now.

Those pulleys can be glued with epoxy, when I fixed my Box I glued all pulleys I had access to.

Liova
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Liova » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:28 pm

So I fixed gear on the motor shaft, there are still some problems, but shift is like 1/3 of what it was.

When I have time, I will remove the whole shaft and fix all three gears on it, to be sure.
20160910_101747.jpg
20160910_101747.jpg (112.03 KiB) Viewed 19087 times

Candace
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:15 pm

Re: Up BOX horizontal lines

Post by Candace » Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:23 pm

I also had this problem (x-axis horizontal lines). Glued down all the pulleys, maybe helped a bit. Turns out, the main problem was my perfboard wasn't clicked in all the way because the platform screw heights were off (screws too deep). During the print it would click in and out, causing those lines. The funny thing is it took me forever to figure out because every time I went to go remove a print the perfboard was clicked in. So yeah make sure those screws are at the right height and that with a slight push/pull the board isn't moving.

Post Reply