How much do you actually use your up! Printer

talk about anything
mec949

How much do you actually use your up! Printer

Post by mec949 » Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:54 am

Heyo,
The reason why I ask this question is that I have wanted a 3d printer ever since I saw the primitive incarnations of the technology all the way back in 2005. Back then they were ridiculously expensive and generally podwer based, so, insanely messy. As I followed the technology, it became more refined and I would put off the temptation of buying a sub 5000 model in hope for something better, faster and cheaper to run.

Yet there was a lingering question from people to whom I had mentioned my intention to by a3d printer..."why would you want one of those? You will play with it for 5 minutes and them it will sit there unused for months."

I like to draw and create, I am also a primary school teacher in which I think this technology is well suited on several levels.
Kids should know this technology (as well as 3d software like sketch up. Cheap and easy. Not just downloading stuff from a website but making your own stuff)

So tell me, what is it that you make with your up!, what would you create with your students if you were a primary school teacher? Do you have to save up to afford the filament, which filament is your favorite.

$1700 is a lot of money unless it will pay for itself (the price in Australia when buying from au reseller) so one must internally justify these things especially with the ongoing costs.

Thanks for watching, share your thoughts :mrgreen:

woofy

Re: How much do you actually use your up! Printer

Post by woofy » Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:14 am

The build plate runs hotter than boiling water!
The nozzle temperature runs hotter than molten Tin.
Personally, I would not allow primary level students anywhere near the machine.

I'm all for teaching youngsters about the technology though.