Rafts with latest Software

Talk about anything.
Post Reply
ata0921
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:50 am

Rafts with latest Software

Post by ata0921 » Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:43 am

Is it just me or even with "No Rafts" enabled, the UP! software still lays down an initial raft layer? Previous versions I was able to print with absolutely no raft at all by changing the parameters in the print options.
- Andy

teamcarlisle
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by teamcarlisle » Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:24 am

Might just be you. When I check "no raft" it prints raftless. I'm on windows with 1.18. A few notes on times I got tripped up. Make sure you do a new "print" after making changes and not just hitting "print again" that bit me for a good hour one night when I was trying to do a software calibration level and none of my changes were making a difference before it donned on me that any changes have to be recalculated into the print code. Another observation I made when printing raftless is if the bottom edge of your mesh is slightly rounded the software will (back when I was on 1.16 I think was when I last noticed it) print a very thin layer around the perimeter of your object. I realized later it was a layer of support material because my logos I made had very slightly rounded edges on the bottom. Hope that helps

ata0921
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:50 am

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by ata0921 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:10 am

I guess I should mention I'm on the Mac version. Can't get it to go completely raftless still...I'll try the PC version.
- Andy

teamcarlisle
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by teamcarlisle » Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:13 am

Gotcha, best of luck!

mr6k
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by mr6k » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:37 am

Is it the raft that is printing, or a fine support layer. I notice that if the base of the print is not exactly flat, then the software will add support. This, on the pc version shows on the screen as a fine yellow mesh/outline. But if I remember correctly, only shows on the screen after the "print" command has sent or is sending data to the printer.

cheers

Peter

Neal
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:26 pm

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by Neal » Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:18 pm

I think that if you fiddle with the "Part, Angle< " setting you can minimize or eliminate this single layer of support material that sometimes prints around the perimeter of the bottom of a part.

ata0921
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:50 am

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by ata0921 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:22 pm

I used the same settings on the PC side and there was no rafts, went back to the Mac and it was there again. Settings are identical, just on the Mac side it adds an initial support layer.

No one else seeing this?
- Andy

Paul Edwards
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by Paul Edwards » Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:08 pm

Hi Andy

I'm on the mac software and am seeing the same problem. I couldn't find a solution so I've moved back to the previous version for now.

Paul

roller
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:09 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Rafts with latest Software

Post by roller » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 am

Finally got around to checking - I see the same. Mac version does not print raftless.

Post Reply